anagramofbrat: (what is love?)
A now belatedly blessed Imbolc and happy Groundhog day to everyone. As I type this, I am eating my customary pint of Dulce de Leche... while behind me my husband is playing "What What In the Butt" on the iPad. smh. This is my life.

When last we left our heroine, she was recovering from a nasty gastrointestinal virus. Other than that it's been a reasonably quiet week; the only real thing of note was spending Thursday evening drinking at CandyLand, especially notable because [livejournal.com profile] cell23 brought home a bottle of Licor43 for me, which was an unexpected treat. Other than that most the major blips on my radar have been entirely cerebral. It sort of reminds me of an old lazy joke I heard a while back. "I may look like I'm doing nothing, but on a cellular level I'm really quite busy." Mmmhmm.

One month of the year gone (finally, January can go fuck itself) and I'm rather pleased about one of my resolutions working out quite well so far, which is managing my money. I've kept meticulous track of the movement of every cent to my name all month (yay spreadsheets!), and managed to play catch up on two of the bills I'd dropped behind on while unemployed and made a fair amount of progress on catching up on a couple of others. Not moving as fast as I'd like with that, but gradual progress is better than no progress at all and this is one month out of what will hopefully be a lifelong habit. If I keep at it, the debt currently stressing me out should be caught up with by May, after which I can start worrying in earnest about some of the other stuff hanging over my head, both on personal and oh-god-my-credit-score levels.

The really interesting thing about the extremely detailed record-keeping is that I can see where money is going quite clearly, and my suspicions that I'm eating a significant chunk of it are, unfortunately, true. I've been very bad about keeping another of my New Year's resolutions, which is to stay out of Sevs unless we need milk. Really all convenience stores, but I'd gotten especially bad about 7-11 in particular because it's the closest anything to Squire and it's always open. And I do love my soda, coffee and junk food. :P Multiple reasons to stay the hell out of there, but I got lazy about there and the gulf station next to my job. $2 there, $5 there, $3 over here... do that almost every day and it adds up. Add in the couple times I went out to eat and... yeah, that's a C note and change I really could have spent on something more useful. So I need to do better with that this month. Also with trying to save a little. So far that hasn't much happened either. :P

The major upside to the hawk eye I'm keeping on things is that I haven't overdrafted once all month. That's cause for celebration right there - I really don't want to think about how much FSB has gotten out of me in bank fees over the past couple years. I guess long story short, I'm still essentially broke as fuck, but it's a managed kind of broke, and between regular, stable salary and rigid spreadsheet fu, I not only might finally crawl the hell out of my finance hole, I'll have the satisfaction of saying I did it all by me onesies. That's certainly something I've never been able to say before. Not gonna lie, looking forward to that.

Other things... not as much progress as I'd like. Still stalled out on writing, redoing and reopening my website is slow going, and I've been so tired and headnoisy and distractable lately that even the beading's slowed to a crawl. Part of it's the weather; while I love winter, I don't function well when cold, and lately I've been doing my nails to hide the fact that the nail beds are blue all the damn time. Being cold tenses me up and being tense all the time wears me out; hence the constant tired. There were 36 hours this week where the temperature thawed to a tropical 48 degrees, which, dense creepy fog and mud everywhere aside, was fantastic. But yeah, I'm crap for doing productive or creative things in the foul pit of winter; I need to invest in heated gadgets for next year. A new mattress pad for one, but also thinking since my computer is both by the window (which is still kinda chilly even with the plastic over it) and by an outlet, I might go for a heated seat cushion for my chair as well. Probably one of many signs that I'm older than I look/act, and just getting older still. :/

What else... not too much, other than a tangle of weird emotional dreck dredged up by being sick, time of year, and a couple of things going on involving other people that have me feeling all weird and complicated and shit. This was not helped by watching this commercial yesterday:



Hooo boy. I was a mess last night afterward. Just full on bawl and snot and ugly cry all over the place. Knowing this is going to be one of the Super Bowl ads tomorrow, I tried to watch it a few more times in an attempt to desensitize myself a bit, but no, the b'awww kept happening. Hell, I just watched it again before embedding it and I'm all sniffly. Kinda pissed about it too - I should not be getting this worked up about a commercial for cheap shitty beer, especially not one that has horses in it. I don't like horses! (Though, I'll admit, Clydesdales are cool... if only because they're less horses and more giant equine tanks.) And yet... owwwww my feels. MY FEELS, PRECIOUSSSSS. I think I'm just gonna leave the room if it comes on during the game.

Speaking of which, tomorrow (today, now) is Super Bowl. I'm kinda eh about the game itself - I didn't follow the season or the post-season much except to occasionally roll my eyes at Tim Tebow, no teams from NY nor the Saints made it to the playoffs, and I've actually been deliberately avoiding my MD family the past couple of weeks because I knew G at least was going to be an annoying little snot about the Ravens murdering the Pats in the AFC game. But we are hosting the game here at House Browne-Tatro and making food for the occasion. Well, if anyone shows up, lol, no one really rsvped. Oh well. If no one shows up, at worst I'll have a clean house and plenty of leftovers for the week. Also toying with the idea of borrowing the car and nipping down to Northampton for a bit, as Alison Bechdel is speaking at Smith and I'd like to see her. I mean, to totally sound hipster about it, I was reading her stuff before she got mainstream, lol. Now I'm just sort of amused because since Fun Home and Are You My Mother? I've watched people who shall remain nameless go from being all "Why do you read that man-hating soap opera?" about Dykes to Watch Out For to having nothing but high praise for her stuff. I really have to wonder if there's an actual disconnect preventing them from realizing it's the same author.

Bah, it's after 1am... I'm not sleepy though. Maybe I should go do some more stew prep or clean the bathroom or something.

Date: 2013-02-03 06:32 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] breakableheart.livejournal.com
Oh for crying in the rain, WTF commercial? Argh.

Date: 2013-02-03 07:39 am (UTC)From: [personal profile] kshandra
kshandra: Porcelain figurine of an dragon comforting a smaller dragon who is wiping tears from zir eyes (It'sOkayToCry)
Coincidentally, [livejournal.com profile] gridlore was just telling warning me about that *&^%$#@! commercial as I was reading your post...it made HIM cry.

Date: 2013-02-03 04:01 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] retsuko.livejournal.com
Who thinks that DtWOF is a man-hating soap opera? I mean, early on, there were no recurring male characters (and the occasional but rare male antagonist), but Raffi, Stuart, Jerry, and Carlos are very positively portrayed. *boggles* Anyway, if you have a chance to hear Bechdel speak, she's pretty cool, very low-key and interesting.

And props to you with your money resolution! :D

Date: 2013-02-03 04:16 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] anagramofbrat.livejournal.com
people I no longer speak to partly because they are chauvinist pigs.

Date: 2013-02-03 04:13 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] childthursday.livejournal.com
Why did I watch it? Why did I watch it? Augh! I'm crying now.

Date: 2013-02-03 04:17 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] anagramofbrat.livejournal.com
YOU WERE WARNED! WHY DID YOU DO IT

Date: 2013-02-03 05:18 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] trenton22.livejournal.com
Watch it with the sound off. I just did and had no major emotional response, barely any at all really. I watched the dang thing ten times the first day and it made me tear up each time. I thought I'd be good the next day. Still almost got me to tear up. (OK, it succeeded.) But that's when I started thinking about ol' Stevie Nicks and "Landslide". That's the trick. It's a sweet 60-second story, but it's the music that amps up the potency to activate tear ducts.
Edited Date: 2013-02-03 05:20 pm (UTC)

Date: 2013-02-03 09:18 pm (UTC)From: [personal profile] northernwalker
northernwalker: (Default)
*sniffles*

I guess long story short, I'm still essentially broke as fuck, but it's a managed kind of broke, and between regular, stable salary and rigid spreadsheet fu, I not only might finally crawl the hell out of my finance hole, I'll have the satisfaction of saying I did it all by me onesies. That's certainly something I've never been able to say before. Not gonna lie, looking forward to that.

Congratulations!

*sniffles more*

Profile

anagramofbrat: (Default)
anagramofbrat

June 2023

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
111213 1415 16 17
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:55 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios