anagramofbrat: (beads)
Somewhere in me is a rant/exploration about Wheaton's Law, othering/dehumanizing and George Takei declaring people douchebags in that wonderful voice of his, but it's not for today. What with the utterly soul-killing grayness outside and my own headnoise, I don't feel like spending the time in negative head-space even for the sake of posting to LJ is going to do much for me, so I'm going to comment on two more positive things instead.

1) I watched the first extended episode of The Borgias last night. I wasn't expecting much in the way of faithfulness to history considering it's the network that gave us the fantastically costumed lust-romp that was The Tudors. Don't get me wrong, I loved every second of it, but that whole King Henry vocally channeling Christian Bale's Batman as he got older thing was pretty lulzy in its awfulness. For the most part, The Borgias delivered more of the same - the costumes are beautiful, the sex is sexy and scandalous, and Jeremy Irons does indeed do a lot of flouncing about in a dress and snarling as well as having lusty encounters with pretty wenches, which is kind of impressive considering his character happens to be Pope at the time. Not sure how invested in the story I actually am, but I'll give it a couple of episodes and see if I still like it by the end of the month.

2) I finally sat down and pretty much for all intents and purposes finished Bowser last night. At least, no more actual beading needs doing. Depending on how I feel about it I may attempt to stitch a backing onto it and I still need to find cord to attach to the dowel it's hanging from but yeah. It's done. Finally.

I'm feeling very mixed about this, but mostly because it's a symptom of everything that's kind of wrong with the way I do everything. It took me two weeks to finish the bulk of the project, and 3/4 through the second hanging strap I put it down and it took me the better part of a year to go back and finish it, which took all of an hour. Meanwhile in that year I had built it up in my head as this HUGE BIG DEAL that eventually became so intimidating and so representative of my percieved failure as a human being, let alone a responsible adult, that I couldn't even look at the corner in which I'd stuck my loom without feeling like total and utter crap. But it's done now, and I'm kicking myself because finishing it was OF COURSE far less of a big deal than I had made it out to be. Much like every other goddamn thing I end up just not doing. I'm really sick of the whole thing where I completely forget that it's much less of a deal and takes far less energy to simply do a thing rather than not and obsess/stress about how I am not doing/haven't done said thing. And yet, every single goddamn time...

Anyway. It's done now. Hopefully by the end of today more stuff will be done as well.

Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! ~~ Adopt one today!Adopt one today!Adopt one today!Adopt one today!

Date: 2011-04-06 03:32 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] grinninfoole.livejournal.com
1) I haven't seen the show, but from what I know of the Borgias, that sounds pretty historically accurate. The court of Henry VIII was a dangerous place, but 16th century Italy was the American League East of intrigue. And crazy debauchery, even by the Pope.

2) Man, that sounds familiar. You should get tested for ADD. You might well find it helpful for dealing with your life.

Profile

anagramofbrat: (Default)
anagramofbrat

June 2023

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
111213 1415 16 17
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:45 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios