Not too much progress, alas. Mostly cause it ended up working out better if I picked up the car later in the afternoon rather than earlier, so I went home for lunch. But! I do have plates, and a registration and they're gonna send me a new title and errthangs. I'm feeling oddly grown up. Arrrgh. It's starting to hit me, the whole I-have-a-car thing. I'm really hoping I can keep this thing alive and in one piece for a long ass while. I'm hoping the tiny picture of Mom I had framed expressly for this purpose will sorta help inspire me to do that. I figure I was her lucky copilot for so many damn years, she can return the favor now.
My roommate and I had a hilarious discussion about vanity plates - except in this case, she meant screwing a dinner plate to the front of the car with the letters and the state on it in puffy paint. It should say something about my personality that this soundted like a hilarious idea for at least three minutes before the part of me that knows that would be illegal as all get out kicked in. But hey, I wouldn't have to wait four months for that sort of vanity plate.
Also, the RMV? not so big on the personal information security.
cell23's registration had gone astray in the mail, and after I was done with the SQUEENEWCAROMG paperwork, I asked where it might have gotten itself to. I was hardly expecting them to take a look in the compy, be all like "...huh, okay" and pretty much hand me his as well as mine with barely a by your leave. All righty then. Goddamn, I'm glad I'm not actually a stalker.
anyway, I'll be off again in a few minutes. Looks like I'll be setting out to get Hanzo-san inspected tomorrow instead of today, and then if all goes well, I'll be heading up to the Peace Pagoda as planned.
My roommate and I had a hilarious discussion about vanity plates - except in this case, she meant screwing a dinner plate to the front of the car with the letters and the state on it in puffy paint. It should say something about my personality that this soundted like a hilarious idea for at least three minutes before the part of me that knows that would be illegal as all get out kicked in. But hey, I wouldn't have to wait four months for that sort of vanity plate.
Also, the RMV? not so big on the personal information security.
anyway, I'll be off again in a few minutes. Looks like I'll be setting out to get Hanzo-san inspected tomorrow instead of today, and then if all goes well, I'll be heading up to the Peace Pagoda as planned.
no subject
Date: 2009-10-06 09:52 pm (UTC)From:Then don't make the biggest mistake most first-time car owners make. Be religious about getting your oil changed -- every 3 months or 3,000 miles, whichever comes first.
no subject
Date: 2009-10-06 10:43 pm (UTC)From: