anagramofbrat: (bitch please)
I had amazing day today up until 11pm when I turned on my phone after Burlesque (and four hours unplugged from the internet) and read the Zimmerman verdict.

FUCK.

I'ma just link to this post I wrote back in March of last year. I don't have any more words than that. Anger, sadness, resignation, frustration, the desire to hug my nephews (and I will next week when I see them) yes. Words? No.

My squee about the rest of the day can wait.
anagramofbrat: (love <3)
This has been a high anxiety week for some reason and it sucks. :( It may have something to do with the amount of coffee I've been drinking lately, honestly, but the problem there is that i'm at the point of caffiene dependancy where if I don't feed the beast, the headache is murderous. Unsure at this point which is worse.

The other problem is pre-job jitters, I think. I've never had to wait this long between "here have a job" and "here's your first day." Plenty of time to get supertwitchynervous about it.

Underlying the anxious is a measure of frustration. I took a break from the Tetris Dance piece in terms of beading and poked at a side project in the meantime. I was sort of inspired by the super classy thanksgiving we had and I thought I'd try out a design for napkin rings, figuring each ring would be smaller and quicker than the bigger project. Except between super twitchy week and not really feeling the piece once I started it, it turned out to be something of a disaster. I miscaculated the size when I designed the pattern first off, so the ring was too big. And after that it was all downhill - made a major mistake in the pattern in the third row, decided to push through it... and then came to a point in the beadwork where somehow I'd added an extra bead without noticing, thus completely throwing shit off. Plus I wasn't really liking where it was going. So I called it quits about 1/3rd of the way through and went back to the other project. Perhaps at some point I'll revisit the napkin ring idea with a smaller pattern, and maybe not work on it while exciting shit is going down on Sons of Anarchy.

Oh yeah, caught up on that finally. Yeeeeeeeeegh. That show is going to a very grim place.

Anyway here's the failed ring. I know it doesn't look like anything's wrong with it, but... yeah. Trust me, I done fucked it up. You can probably spot where in the second pic if you look hard enough.



Pattern for it (and three others), BTW is here.

Problem with taking the break from the big project? Lost my momentum. I've only done 2/3rds of row 26 yesterday, and didn't touch the needle today owing to being distracted by the suddenly very important task of organizing/consolidating various picture collection. (Also laundry.) This snowballed into the monstrous chore of assembling, scanning and organizing what I have thus far in terms of wedding pictures. There are a crapton of those (last count 158), and I haven't even gotten the ones from our official photographer yet. Still, I rather love what we've gotten so far, and have put out a call for more of them from people that brought their cameras. I like having the multiple perspectives on the same event. Plus I'm on a quest - I'm hoping beyond all hope that someone caught [livejournal.com profile] cell23's expression as I came down the aisle. I swear, his mouth dropped open, it was amazeballs. But so far, no one's gotten it yet.

Anyway. THE STORY THUS FAR (pretty sure the slideshow updates as more gets added):

anagramofbrat: (bitch please)
I have to interrupt the usual stream of silliness and bitching, y'all. It's been a long ass while since something on the news has fucked with me this badly and I'm having all kinds of FEELINGS about it, which is one in a bunch of reasons why I'm not dead asleep right now.

This is going to get long and nasty and thorny and opinionated, and I highly suspect some folk are going to squirm/be triggered/get pissed at me reading it. I'm not cutting it. I'm only barely feeling considerate enough to place a trigger warning in the title. Deal. Or scroll.

So let's talk about this kid for a minute:



This is 17 year old Trayvon Martin. He was shot and killed in Florida on February 26 while walking to a 7-11 to get some candy for his brother. Why? According to the man that shot him, "he looked suspicious." ...Uh huh. I'm totally paraphrasing, by the way, his actual words were far more... chilling is the wrong word, but it's all I've got. No I'm not quoting them, google it.

Earlier this evening police released 911 audio of eight calls made at the time of the shooting. After reading the description of their contents here, I've opted to not listen. I know I wouldn't be able to handle it, and I'm having enough trouble sleeping this evening. The description is enough to have me in some ugly tears.

I wouldn't say there is enough coverage of this out there by way of Twitter, blogs and the news, because there isn't, and frankly, there never is when a kid of color dies. (Pretty confident a lot of you are hearing about this for the first time via this post.) However, most of what I could say about this has been said by people far better at this whole expressing outrage and grief on the internet than I am. The #TrayvonMartin hashtag on twitter pretty much covers it, as well as completely breaks my heart six ways from Sunday.

I will say this though. Between this case, this kid's picture (he don't look like anybody's 17, I'm sorry), all the points people have brought up about the (non)value of black boys in our supposedly post-racial society, looking at the way my sisters and friends of color raise their kids, especially their sons, and all the things I hated but completely understood about how my ex used to behave as a large black man in a 90% white public? I think I'm finally okay with not having children in this lifetime, because this is all shit I would have to deal with and worry about every single day as a Black mother, and y'all... I can't even. I don't know how some of you deal with this and still manage to let your boys out of your sight to live their lives, knowing that they run the VERY FUCKING REAL risk of having their LIVES ENDED for having the audacity to walk down a street in a way that upset someone paler than they are, and 9 times out of 10, said pale person wouldn't catch jack shit for it. Because this isn't an isolated incident, y'all. I wish it was, but this shit's been happening almost every day since most of us brown folk got dragged here in chains. And you know what? It's pretty fucking rough just dealing with that day in and day out, just knowing if you slip up and take a shortcut through the wrong town at the wrong time,* it'll cost you in at best harassment, at worst grievous bodily harm, possibly including death. All because you happen to be somewhat more sun-resistant than Freckle McBlonderson over there. And then add the fact that you have to worry about your kids as well? Ffffffffuuuuuuucccccccck.

Y'all who never have to worry about this shit as you raise your kids? Give some serious fervent thanks to whatever power you hold dear that you don't, cause it sucks. And I'm not going to lie, tonight I resent your privilege in this department more than a little bit. Nope, no exceptions, sorry, I'm not writing any Black Friend Passes today and just as a heads up, the window may remain closed at least through the weekend. Too upset, and fuck you if you don't get why.

I'm not at all optimistic about there being any kind of positive outcome in this case, and it is almost a moot point because even if key people managed to get their collective heads out of their asses and some kind of legal justice was served, Trayvon is still horribly, senselessly dead. The media and the Internet being what they are, his death won't necessarily spark nearly enough outrage to really change anything either because in order to get people outside of the niche that is, say, #blacktwitter to give a shit about black boys dying, some white guys have to make a video about it and make it go viral. Bonus if they then get busted for drug use and public masturbation. That's what makes people pay attention. One sweet-faced teenager just getting his brother some candy and getting shot for his trouble? Well like I sad, Trayvon died on the 26th of February. Why did it take twenty damn days for this to get widespread press? Shit.

All I want to do right now is hug the stuffing out of my nephews and tell them I love them. And cry buckets that it's still so fucked up out there that shit like this can still happen and no one'll say boo, and even if someone does? deaf ears.

Wellp. Until next time, folks. Sadly, there will be one.



* seriously, look up "sundown towns" and "The Green Book" sometime. You'll learn stuff.
anagramofbrat: (WTF)
Not what I wanted to have to hear about in my twitter feed today. Boosting the signal to all my Smithies cause this shit isn't okay.

http://gneissguy.tumblr.com/post/4539855184/eve-before-battle
http://gneissguy.tumblr.com/post/4555557924/of-ultimatums-at-smith-college-and-decisions-to-be-made

TL;DR version: Smith Admissions told a male-identified transgender student they could not host prospective students. I really have no words other than

anagramofbrat: (WTF)
Not what I wanted to have to hear about in my twitter feed today. Boosting the signal to all my Smithies cause this shit isn't okay.

http://gneissguy.tumblr.com/post/4539855184/eve-before-battle
http://gneissguy.tumblr.com/post/4555557924/of-ultimatums-at-smith-college-and-decisions-to-be-made

TL;DR version: Smith Admissions told a male-identified transgender student they could not host prospective students. I really have no words other than

anagramofbrat: (dot dot dot)
Guys, The Guild is TERRIBLE. I just tried to watch it on Netflix with [livejournal.com profile] cell23, and man I've never cringed so much in 45 minutes before now and I think I need a double shot of vodka to deal with that mess. Seriously, any liking/respect for Felicia Day I had going from Dr. Horrible has been thoroughly canceled out in the space of an hour. "Date my avatar" was cute, but everything else out of this project makes me twitch on some visceral "what is wrong with you people" level.

Yeah, I'm done.
anagramofbrat: (dot dot dot)
Guys, The Guild is TERRIBLE. I just tried to watch it on Netflix with [livejournal.com profile] cell23, and man I've never cringed so much in 45 minutes before now and I think I need a double shot of vodka to deal with that mess. Seriously, any liking/respect for Felicia Day I had going from Dr. Horrible has been thoroughly canceled out in the space of an hour. "Date my avatar" was cute, but everything else out of this project makes me twitch on some visceral "what is wrong with you people" level.

Yeah, I'm done.
anagramofbrat: (superfail)
Wellp. went to the doctor today. Guess what I have! Again! Again as in FOR THE FOURTH TIME, WTF! Chicken pox.

Chicken. Pox.

CHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIICKEN POOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOX.

...WTF, immune system. you FAIL SO HARD right now. I don't care if you're currently suppressed because otherwise you'd eat my intestine, FAIL. Because apparently having had chicken pox three times before now didn't make me into ENOUGH of a freak of nature.

so no harry potter for me tonight. May well be no bells on Sunday either, but we'll see. And I forgot to pick up my scrip in Amherst so I may have to go back out and get it later.

FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
anagramofbrat: (superfail)
Wellp. went to the doctor today. Guess what I have! Again! Again as in FOR THE FOURTH TIME, WTF! Chicken pox.

Chicken. Pox.

CHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIICKEN POOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOX.

...WTF, immune system. you FAIL SO HARD right now. I don't care if you're currently suppressed because otherwise you'd eat my intestine, FAIL. Because apparently having had chicken pox three times before now didn't make me into ENOUGH of a freak of nature.

so no harry potter for me tonight. May well be no bells on Sunday either, but we'll see. And I forgot to pick up my scrip in Amherst so I may have to go back out and get it later.

FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
anagramofbrat: (south park)
Thank the heavens for big sisters some days I swear. Otherwise today would have been FAR more failtastic than it was. *twitch*

Gonna salve my soul with jerkface kitten time now. Here have dragons.

Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today!
anagramofbrat: (south park)
Thank the heavens for big sisters some days I swear. Otherwise today would have been FAR more failtastic than it was. *twitch*

Gonna salve my soul with jerkface kitten time now. Here have dragons.

Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today!
anagramofbrat: (rage)
I'm copying [livejournal.com profile] telepresence's post on the subject in its entireity cause he pretty much summed it up quite well:

Were you, like me, feeling conflicted about seeing The Last Airbender? Welp, apparently the pressure is off, because the movie is crap.

Last I checked it's at 10 percent at Rotten Tomatoes. The tacked-on 3-D is supposedly terrible, the action is tepid, and the acting terrible.

It's actually down to 7% and presumably falling.

A sampling of pull quotes:

"The Last Airbender is an agonizing experience in every category I can think of and others still waiting to be invented." - Roger Ebert, Chicago Sun Times

"The Last Airbender is a joyless, soulless, muddled mess," - Christy Lemire, Associated Press

"This colossal folly, the fiasco of the summer of 2010 — gives us all a ringside seat at the sight of Mr. “I See Dead People’s” career gurgling down the drain." - Roger Moore, Orlando Sentinel

"The Last Airbender is dreadful, an incomprehensible fantasy-action epic that makes the 2007 film The Golden Compass, a similarly botched adaptation of a beloved property from another medium, look like a four-star classic." - Ty Burr, Boston Globe


Also, on top of the dodgy racial issues that have dogged the movie since the cast was revealed, apparently it sucks for gender too, with no Suki, no Kyoshi Warriors, and most of Katara's top moments either excised (no fight between Katara and Master Pakku for her right to train with boys) or given to Aang. Bleah.

Ah well, there's always the DVDs of the original show.


Yeah, wow. I think Hollywood just invented Failbending, lol. And, as one of [livejournal.com profile] telepresence's friends pointed out, when's the last time you enjoyed something getting as savaged by the critics to this extreme of a level? (When was Uwe Boll's last movie?)

I'm going to go over here and relish my schadenfreude sandwich now.
anagramofbrat: (rage)
I'm copying [livejournal.com profile] telepresence's post on the subject in its entireity cause he pretty much summed it up quite well:

Were you, like me, feeling conflicted about seeing The Last Airbender? Welp, apparently the pressure is off, because the movie is crap.

Last I checked it's at 10 percent at Rotten Tomatoes. The tacked-on 3-D is supposedly terrible, the action is tepid, and the acting terrible.

It's actually down to 7% and presumably falling.

A sampling of pull quotes:

"The Last Airbender is an agonizing experience in every category I can think of and others still waiting to be invented." - Roger Ebert, Chicago Sun Times

"The Last Airbender is a joyless, soulless, muddled mess," - Christy Lemire, Associated Press

"This colossal folly, the fiasco of the summer of 2010 — gives us all a ringside seat at the sight of Mr. “I See Dead People’s” career gurgling down the drain." - Roger Moore, Orlando Sentinel

"The Last Airbender is dreadful, an incomprehensible fantasy-action epic that makes the 2007 film The Golden Compass, a similarly botched adaptation of a beloved property from another medium, look like a four-star classic." - Ty Burr, Boston Globe


Also, on top of the dodgy racial issues that have dogged the movie since the cast was revealed, apparently it sucks for gender too, with no Suki, no Kyoshi Warriors, and most of Katara's top moments either excised (no fight between Katara and Master Pakku for her right to train with boys) or given to Aang. Bleah.

Ah well, there's always the DVDs of the original show.


Yeah, wow. I think Hollywood just invented Failbending, lol. And, as one of [livejournal.com profile] telepresence's friends pointed out, when's the last time you enjoyed something getting as savaged by the critics to this extreme of a level? (When was Uwe Boll's last movie?)

I'm going to go over here and relish my schadenfreude sandwich now.

LOL fail

Jun. 6th, 2010 03:24 pm
anagramofbrat: (superfail)
Ever wondered what catastrophic breadmaker fail looked like? Look no further.



Far as I can tell what happened is that the pan wasn't pushed in all the way and thus no mixing or kneading happened. Instead I got what resembled bread custard with a lot of untouched flour in. This would have been horrific and tragic were I not able to grab more butter from Sev's. As it was I rolled my eyes, took pictures, scraped out the pan and started over. Take two seems to be going along fine as of an hour ago, and I still have enough time and ingredients for a second loaf after that.

In other news I am displeased by these thunderstorms (and tornadoes apparently!) passing immediately north and south of Sunderland but missing us entirely. We're only getting sprinkles of rain even. Oh cruel weather gods, why hath you forsaken the Pioneer Valley?

Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today!

LOL fail

Jun. 6th, 2010 03:24 pm
anagramofbrat: (superfail)
Ever wondered what catastrophic breadmaker fail looked like? Look no further.



Far as I can tell what happened is that the pan wasn't pushed in all the way and thus no mixing or kneading happened. Instead I got what resembled bread custard with a lot of untouched flour in. This would have been horrific and tragic were I not able to grab more butter from Sev's. As it was I rolled my eyes, took pictures, scraped out the pan and started over. Take two seems to be going along fine as of an hour ago, and I still have enough time and ingredients for a second loaf after that.

In other news I am displeased by these thunderstorms (and tornadoes apparently!) passing immediately north and south of Sunderland but missing us entirely. We're only getting sprinkles of rain even. Oh cruel weather gods, why hath you forsaken the Pioneer Valley?

Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today!

Profile

anagramofbrat: (Default)
anagramofbrat

June 2023

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
111213 1415 16 17
18192021222324
252627282930 

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 01:22 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios